What You Said About Cornerstone

Calculate the Cost of Cornerstone

calcclipartIn late 2017, URA began research to assess Cornerstone implementation after one year. We asked: What did Cornerstone cost? Was it worth the effort URA and other staff and faculty have made? This week, we have some preliminary answers.

Read more here

More Of What Your Coworkers Are Saying About Cornerstone

In 2016 we reached out to our membership to get their views and impressions of the system. This past January a follow-up survey was done…

Read more here

URA-AFT General Membership Meeting

(new meeting location)

Where: Rm. 133, Labor Education Center, Cook Campus

When: March 19 @ 5:30 pm — 7:00 pm EDT

  • Special Topic: CORNERSTONE Report
  • Important Business:
    • Election of Bargaining Team
    • Election of Delegates for 2018 AFT Convention, July 13–16, 2018, Pittsburgh, PA

Camden and Newark members, please check your email for further voting information

Open to full dues members only. Membership forms available at the door.


See on event calendar here

In Memoriam: Mia Kissil

URA-AFT joins the Hewitt and Kissil family and the Rutgers Community in mourning the loss of Mia Kissil. Mia passed away after a long battle with lung cancer on February 28, 2018 at her Bernardsville home, with friends and family at her side.

Read more here

Rutgers Board Uses Cops to Keep Some Protesters Out of Meeting

With Union Contracts Nearing Their End, Faculty Members Call For Negotiations

Article | March 6, 2018 — 5:25am | By Charlie Kratovil | New Brunswick Today

Union protesters made up much of the audience at the February 7 meeting, but some were denied entry. Charlie Kratovil

NEWARK, NJUniversity police officers restricted some people from attending the February 7 meeting of one of the governing boards that oversees Rutgers University.

The Board of Governors’ (BOG) public meeting, just one of six regular meetings scheduled this year, was held on the school’s Newark campus at the Paul Robeson Campus Center.

Read more here

Save the Date: Friday, 2/23 at Brower Commons Join Rutgers Union Coalition and United Students Against Sweatshops

Old Queens can find the money for new VP’s, Chancellors, Associate VP’s, Associate Chancellors and the endless parade of head coaches.  So they can find the money for fair pay for faculty, students and staff.

Old Queens can find the time for promotional videos and photo-shoots.  So they can find the time to bargain with 20,000 unionized Rutgers workers.

Should be simple.  But it’s not.

Join the Rutgers Union Coalition and United Students Against Sweatshops outside Brower Commons on Friday, February 23.

$15 minimum wage for ALL campus employees.
Health insurance coverage for ALL campus employees.
Joint negotiations on salaries and health insurance for ALL unions.

Let’s not wait till our contracts expire.




Lucye Millerand

Bargaining 101 and Protecting Your Union

Join your colleagues and sign the petition for a new contract!

The URA-AFT is joining with Rutgers’ other unions to demand negotiations for 20,000 Rutgers employees whose union contracts expire on June 30, 2018. Please join in and sign to call for contract talks now to ensure health care, job security, tuition costs and benefits, pay equity, and the right to representation for all employees.


Read more here

Recruitment for Feb. 24 Bargaining Training Workshop

Members who want to join the Contract campaign team are invited to take part in our Bargaining Training Workshop. Click here for time and location.  This training will be a prerequisite for the contract bargaining table team.

Topics include:

  • Surveying the Bargaining Landscape: Power Analysis and Mobilizing in 2018
  • Bargaining for the Common Good
  • From Issues to Bargaining Proposals
  • Who is at the Table? What do they do? What else do we do away from the table?
  • Ratifying the Agreement

Read more here

URA General Membership Meeting

February 19 @ 5:30 pm — 7:00 pm EST

Live from Cook Campus in Room 133, Labor Education Center and video-conferencing with Dana Room, 4th fl., Dana Library, Newark Campus

Special Topics:

  • Bargaining Update
  • Nomination for 2018 AFT Convention, July 13–16, 2018, Pittsburgh, PA
  • WILD Conference, March 2–3, 2018, East Brunswick, NJ

Upcoming Events

URA-AFT General Membership Meeting

February 19 @ 5:30 pm — 7:00 pm EST

Live from Cook Campus in Room 133, Labor Education Center and video-conferencing with Dana Room, 4th fl., Dana Library, Newark Campus


Bargaining Training Workshop

February 24 @ 9:30 am — 2:30 pm EST

Eagleton Institute of Politics/Wood Lawn, Douglass Campus

Call for Nomination of Delegates for 2018 AFT Convention

URA’s full-dues members are able to take part in the democratic process at every level of the labor movement by running for office as delegates. Nominations for delegates to the AFT National Convention will take place at the February 19 General Membership meeting. All URA delegates are expected to attend all business sessions of the convention and appropriate educational workshops held in conjunction with the event. Travel, accommodations (dual occupancy), and IRS per diem expenses are provided from the URA budget.

Read more here

What Members Need To Know About Janus v. AFSCME

On February 26, the Supreme Court of the United States will hear arguments in Janus v. AFSCME. The plaintiff is asking Court to rule that while his union must negotiate for his pay and benefits, and represent him if his rights are violated, he should not be obliged to pay fair-share or “agency fee” . For over 40 years, individual states have been able to pass laws which permit public workers to opt in or out of union membership, but require them to share in the union’s expenses.   This challenge could end agency fees in all states, and would essentially make the USA a “right-to-work (for less)” nation for all of the public sector. The current Supreme Court is almost certain to side against unions and the decision could come as early as April.

Join your union now at http://www.ura-aft.org/join-the-ura-aft/join-the-union for a strong contract and a fair workplace.

Read more here

In Memoriam: Meda Barker

URA-AFT joins the Barker and Greathouse families and the Rutgers community in mourning the loss of Meda Barker. Meda was an active member who signed up last year as a steward on the Newark campus. She will be missed by all who knew her. URA has made a contribution to Equality Utah in her memory.

Read more here

Local 1766