NJ State Shutdown Update

From the New Jersey AFL-CIO:

As New Jersey’s government shutdown enters day 3, we need to demand a resolution. People’s livelihoods are at stake and the services people depend on are in limbo. It is unacceptable that legislators we elected to vote on our behalf are abstaining from voting and causing a state government shutdown. Below is a list of legislators who have abstained and need to hear their constituents’ voices.

If your legislator is listed, please send him or her a direct message with the simple message: pass the budget, end the shutdown.

Holding the state budget captive as a result of Governor Christie’s Horizon demands – a completely unrelated issue that was brought up less than one week ago – is misguided and a disservice to all New Jerseyans.

By expanding Horizon’s mission to serve as the insurer of last resort, Senate Bill S-4 is a health care tax imposed by Governor Christie on policy holders. The New Jersey State AFL-CIO maintains that any surplus should be returned to policy holders rather than diverted to other uses by the governor.

What can you do?

URA-AFT is calling on its members to call the following Legislators who are blocking the passage of a balanced budget. Tell them that a “no” vote or an “abstain” vote is the same as voting “yes” to a shutdown. This is unacceptable.

The below list and contact information has been provided by CWA 1036:

Bob Andrzejczak (609) 465‑0700 AsmAndrzejczak@njleg.org Cape May County
R. Bruce Land (609) 465‑0700 AsmLand@njleg.org Cape May County
Craig Coughlin (732) 855‑7441 AsmCoughlin@njleg.org Middlesex County
Joe Danielsen (732) 247‑3999 AsmDanielsen@njleg.org Middlesex County
Joe Egan (732) 249‑4550 AsmEgan@njleg.org Middlesex County
Nancy Pinkin (732) 548‑1406 AswPinkin@njleg.org Middlesex County
Troy Singleton (856) 234‑2790 AsmSingleton@njleg.org Burlington County
Herb Conaway (856) 461‑3997 AsmConaway@njleg.org Burlington County
Eliana Pintor-Marin (973) 589‑0713 AswPintorMarin@njleg.org Essex County
Gordon Johnson (201) 530‑0469 AsmJohnson@njleg.org Bergen County
Eric Houghtaling (732) 695‑3371 AsmHoughtaling@njleg.org Monmouth County
Joann Downey (732) 333‑0166 AswDowney@njleg.org Monmouth County

And, while you are at it, send a message to thank all the Assembly members who voted YES on the budget and have stuck to their vote. 

 Complete List of Assembly Members who voted YES!

Dan Benson (D)

Ralph Caputo (D)

Marlene Caride (D)

Annette Chaparro (D)

Nicholas Chiaravalloti (D)

Wayne DeAngelo (D)

Tim Eustace (D)

Thomas Giblin (D)

Reed Gusciora (D) 

Jamel Holley (D)

Mila Jasey (D)

Angelica Jimenez (D)

James Kennedy (D)

Joseph Lagana (D) 

John McKeon (D)

Angela McKnight (D)

Raj Mukherji (D) 

Elizabeth Maher Muoio (D)

Vincent Prieto (D)

Annette Quijano (D)

Gary Schaer (D) 

Shavonda Sumter (D)

Cleopatra Tucker (D)

Valerie Vainieri Huttle (D)

Benjie Wimberly (D)

John Wisniewski (D)

Andrew Zwicker (D)


 Thank you to Assembly members Wayne DeAngelo (LD14), Dan Benson (LD14), and Andrew Zwicker (LD16) who added their YES votes on Friday to pass the budget and avoid a shutdown. Thank you to Assemblyman James Kennedy (LD22) who added his vote YES on Sunday to end the shutdown.