Convention and legislative conference

On Saturday, April 9, leaders, and members of the URA Executive Board joined our AFTNJ brothers and sisters to hear from legislators and their plans for education priorities at the AFTNJ Convention and Legislative Conference in East Brunswick. 

From left to right: Leigh-Anne Cobb, Rep. Bonnie Watson-Coleman, Helen Pirrello, Darlene Smith

Our members spoke to Rep. Bonnie Watson-Coleman, Rep. Donald Payne Jr., Rep. Andy Kim, and Rep. Josh Gottheimer, and shared how they can help us with our concerns with funding and assistance for higher education staff. 

Rep. Donald Payne Jr. and Charles Basden

Congratulations to Leigh-Anne Cobb, elected as AFTNJ Secretary, as well as Christine O’Connell and Darlene Smith, who were re-elected as Divisional Vice Presidents for Higher Education.

We will continue to strongly advocate for and elevate staff voices and concerns in New Jersey higher education conversations.